“Associated Collegiate Press Pacemaker Awards place you in the top 1 percent of collegiate student media in the United States.” Laura Widmer, ACP executive director National Conference Washington, D.C. Oct. 20-23, 2016 


For almost 90 years, Xavier University of Louisiana’s student publications have documented the university’s history.The Xavier Herald newspaper and The Xavierite yearbook have published continuously since the 1930s. In 2010, we launched the first generation website, known today as xulaherald.com/The Xavier Herald.

Unlike universities with large journalism programs, Xavier depends on a handful of students—literally core staffs of five to eight per semester—to produce a newspaper, yearbook and digital newspaper. Staff are from many disciplines: art/graphics design, business, computer science, English, mass communication, political science, psychology, STEM majors, College of Pharmacy, and others.

At a time when some universities have downsized or eliminated student publications, Xavier’s administration maintains full financial and academic support for The Herald and xulaherald.com. Students pay $25 per year for The Xavierite, which covers most—but not all—of the yearbook’s expenses.

A couple of dozen students hunker down and invest hundreds of hours in their university student media. Working on The Xavier Herald, Xavierite and xulaherald.com is part of a 90-year tradition. An award-winning tradition.

The 2015-2016 collegiate journalism awards cycle ended in October, and once again our student publications brought home new plaques and certificates to add to the expanding cache. Award-winning Herald staffs included Eric Craig, Fran Pirkl, Mark Veals, Ashlee Hill, Nicholas Davison, Kaelin Maloid, Natese Dockery, Meredith Williams, Allana Barefield, Morgan Yates, Bianca Moore, Tyler Despenza, Prinsey Walker, Kendall Lawson, Lester Rainey, Jaleah Johnson, and Shermona Harvey.

Associated Collegiate Press

6th place, 2016 Design of the Year, Special Section Cover/News Magazine Pacemaker:Nicholas Davison. Nick won with his cover design for the spring 2016 student customer satisfaction survey section.

Associated Collegiate Press Best of Show Awards

4th place, yearbook, 1-299 pages: The Xavierite. Mahalia Dees, managing editor; Kennedi Crosby, Jaleah Johnson and Larresa Phillips, photos/design; volunteers Jade Avery, Alexis Wright.

6th place, website, small school: xulaherald.com. Mark Veals, Nick Davison, Eric Craig, design and content.

5th place, newspaper special edition: The Xavier Herald, student customer satisfaction survey section, March 2016.

10th place, Newspaper, less-than-weekly: The Xavier Herald.

College Media Association Pinnacle Awards

2nd place, 4-year, less-than-weekly newspaper of the year: The Xavier Herald.

3rd place, best house ad design: Nicholas Davison.

CMA Film Festival, Long Documentary, honorable mention: Dat Le and Prinsey Walker, video tribute, “Thank You, Sisters of the Blessed Sacrament.”

Louisiana Press Association, Better Newspaper Competition, Collegiate

1st place, most effective use of graphic design on a single page, Gary Hebert Award, Nicholas Davison.

1st place, best overall website: xulaherald.com, Mark Veals, content/design editor.

1st place, best feature story: Kaelin Maloid.

3rd place, General Excellence: The Xavier Herald.

Southeast Journalism Conference

2nd place, Journalist of the Year: Eric Craig.

6th place, best graphic design: Nicholas Davison.

  • Show Comments (0)

You May Also Like

Shimmy Like a Nupe

Did you miss the Shimmy Like a Nupe event, or want to relive the ...

St. Katharine Drexel’s Residence Hall

The chances are if you’re a female who lived on campus, then you probably ...